Language Learning

Learn A New Language Quickly And Easily

Why I love Duolingo

Britta Ollrogge, MBA
4 min readJun 27, 2022

--

Screenshot duolingo.com
Screenshot duolingo.com

I have been trying to learn Swedish for some time now. And I’ve tried a lot of different apps, books, and other learning materials: Babbel, Rosetta Stone, LingQ, PONS language courses (books + CDs), and language crime stories.
These have given me a wide range of experiences: from total frustration to the impression that it works to some extent. With all of them, however, I gave up at some point — either because I found learning dull or because I couldn’t keep up.

But there’s one language learning application I haven’t mentioned before that I use currently and think is really good. So, after using it for 100 days, I want to share my experience.
I’m talking about the app Duolingo, which is available for smartphones and as a browser version. The functionalities of both are slightly different. I use the free browser-based version, but I also tried the smartphone version. However, in the free version for smartphones, the number of lessons you can do in a row is limited. On the other hand, unlike the browser version, it also offers pronunciation exercises .

So let’s take a closer look at the browser version. First, choose the language you want to learn, create an account and start with a short…

--

--

Britta Ollrogge, MBA

I write on Self Improvement 🌱, Productivity 🎯, and Agile Product Development 🏄. My goal is to inspire.💡https://www.britta-ollrogge-consulting.com